E-Books & Audiobooks

We provide e-books of Korean literary works published in over 48 languages around the world.

5 results
  • The Only Child
    English(English) Ebook

    Mi-ae Seo / 서미애 / 2020 / literature > Korean Literature > Korean Fiction > 21st century > Detective, Adventure

    The Only Child is a shockingly unnerving psychological thriller from bestselling Korean author Mi-ae Seo 'An eerie, electrifying read.' Josh Malerman, New York Times bestselling author of Bird Box 'A chilling, nuanced examination of today's and tomorrow's serial killers and the families who spawned them, The Only Child is a valuable addition to the growing list of Korean crime fiction.' LA Times 'Fans of Mindhunter and Silence of the Lambs will love this dark, cognitive duel between psychologist and serial killer.' Jonathan Trigell, author of Boy A Criminal psychologist Seonkyeong has two new people in her life. A serial killer whose gruesome murders shook the world but who has steadfastly remained silent. Until now. A young, innocent looking stepdaughter from her husband's previous marriage, who unexpectedly turns up at the door after the sudden death of her grandparents. Both are unsettling. Both are deeply troubled. And both seem to want something from her. Can she work out just who is the victim in all of this? Before it's too late... Source : https://lti.overdrive.com/media/5340259?cid=37224

  • Der rote Apfel
    German(Deutsch) Ebook

    Mi-ae Seo / 서미애 / 2020 / literature > Korean Literature > Korean Fiction > 21st century > Detective, Adventure

    Wie wird ein unschuldiges Kind zu einem erbarmungslosen Serienkiller? Seoul, Gegenwart: Ein perfider Serienmörder hat die Stadt monatelang in Atem gehalten. Jetzt ist Lee Byongdo, der Killer mit dem zarten Gesicht, gefasst worden und wird in einer Psychiatrie verwahrt. Doch Lee schweigt. Es gibt nur einen Menschen, mit dem er bereit ist zu reden: mit der jungen Psychologin Sonkyong. Allerdings nur unter der Bedingung, dass sie ihm bei jedem Besuch einen saftigen roten Apfel mitbringt. Niemand weiß, warum er Sonkyong gewählt hat, denn beide sind sich nie begegnet. Die junge Frau willigt in das Treffen ein - ohne zu ahnen, dass sie damit einen Weg beschreitet, der sie in die tiefsten Abgründe der menschlichen Seele führt ... Source : https://lti.overdrive.com/media/6245806?cid=37224

  • The Only Child
    English(English) Ebook

    Mi-ae Seo / 서미애 / 2020 / literature > Korean Literature > Korean Fiction > 21st century > Detective, Adventure

    An eerie and absorbing novel following a criminal psychologist who has discovered shocking and possibly dangerous connections between a serial killer and her stepdaughter. The book to read for fans of the movie Parasite. Criminal psychologist Seonkyeong receives an unexpected call one day. Yi Byeongdo, a serial killer whose gruesome murders shook the world, wants to be interviewed. Yi Byeongdo, who has refused to speak to anyone until now, asks specifically for her. Seonkyeong agrees out of curiosity. That same day Hayeong, her husband's eleven-year-old daughter from a previous marriage, shows up at their door after her grandparents, with whom she lived after her mother passed away, die in a sudden fire. Seonkyeong wants her to feel at home, but is gradually unnerved as the young girl says very little and acts strangely. At work and at home, Seonkyeong starts to unravel the pasts of the two new arrivals in her life and begins to see startling similarities. Hayeong looks at her the same way Yi Byeongdo does when he recounts the abuse he experienced as a child; Hayeong's serene expression masks a temper that she can't control. Plus, the story she tells about her grandparents' death, and her mother's before that, deeply troubles Seonkyeong. So much so that Yi Byeongdo picks up on it and starts giving her advice. Written with exquisite precision and persistent creepiness, The Only Child is psychological suspense at its very best. Source : https://lti.overdrive.com/media/B946EA2B-A46D-4306-B16F-D76EE73D5050

  • Hija única
    Spanish(Español) Ebook

    Mi-ae Seo / 서미애 / 2020 / literature > Korean Literature > Korean Fiction > 21st century > Detective, Adventure

    ¿Un monstruo nace o se hace? La novela negra del momento se escribe en Corea. Dos personas han aterrizado en la vida de la psicóloga forense Seon-gyeong: un asesino en serie de fama mundial, Lee Byeong-do, que había permanecido en silencio hasta entonces, y la aparentemente inofensiva hija de once años del matrimonio anterior de su marido. Desde la misteriosa muerte de su madre, la niña vivía con sus abuelos, pero estos acaban de morir en un incendio inexplicable. Seon-gyeong se ha propuesto que la niña se sienta como en casa, sin embargo, le cuesta conseguirlo: apenas habla y actúa de forma extraña. De hecho, su comportamiento le recuerda, en parte, al de Lee Byeong-do. Los dos parecen trastornados en extremo y, sin duda, quieren algo deella, pero ¿qué? Seon-gyeong tendrá que averiguar quién es la posible víctima en todo ese asunto antes de que sea demasiado tarde. La crítica ha dicho... «Saludemos a los herederos de los nórdicos: en Corea han reinventado el thriller.» The Guardian «Con fría precisión, Seo nos ofrece un retrato, tan perturbador como fascinante, del asesino en serie de la próxima generación.» Kirkus «Un espeluznante thriller psicológico. Seo va tejiendo una red narrativa cada vez más tensa que culmina en un clímax doblemente impactante. Muestra del talento de la autora es la capacidad que tiene para encontrar vestigios de humanidad en un despiadado asesino. Los fans de la serie de Netflix Mindhunter se sentirán como en casa.» Publishers Weekly «Una lectura impresionante y escalofriante.» Josh Malerman, autor de Bird Box: a ciegas Source : https://lti.overdrive.com/media/9FB31086-0DB6-41EA-BBB9-062951213F93

  • The Only Child
    English(English) AudioBook

    Mi-ae Seo / 서미애 / 2020 / literature > Korean Literature > Korean Fiction > 21st century > Detective, Adventure

    An eerie and absorbing novel following a criminal psychologist who has discovered shocking and possibly dangerous connections between a serial killer and her stepdaughter. Criminal psychologist Seonkyeong receives an unexpected call one day. Yi Byeongdo, a serial killer whose gruesome murders shook the world, wants to be interviewed. Yi Byeongdo, who has refused to speak to anyone until now, asks specifically for her. Seonkyeong agrees out of curiosity. That same day Hayeong, her husband's eleven-year-old daughter from a previous marriage, shows up at their door after her grandparents, with whom she lived after her mother passed away, die in a sudden fire. Seonkyeong wants her to feel at home, but is gradually unnerved as the young girl says very little and acts strangely. At work and at home, Seonkyeong starts to unravel the pasts of the two new arrivals in her life and begins to see startling similarities. Hayeong looks at her the same way Yi Byeongdo does when he recounts the abuse he experienced as a child; Hayeong's serene expression masks a temper that she can't control. Plus, the story she tells about her grandparents' death, and her mother's before that, deeply troubles Seonkyeong. So much so that Yi Byeongdo picks up on it and starts giving her advice. Written with exquisite precision and persistent creepiness, The Only Child is psychological suspense at its very best. Source : https://lti.overdrive.com/media/C71BD156-AF61-4D72-9EAE-C13A773A1E13