E-Books & Audiobooks

We provide e-books of Korean literary works published in over 48 languages around the world.

4 results
  • Love in the Big City
    Love in the Big City
    English(English) Ebook

    Sang Young Park / 박상영 / 2021 / KDC구분 > literature > Korean Literature > Korean Fiction > 21st century

    A funny, transporting, surprising, and poignant novel that was one of the highest-selling debuts of recent years in Korea, Love in the Big City tells the story of a young gay man searching for happiness in the lonely city of Seoul Love in the Big City is the English-language debut of Sang Young Park, one of Korea's most exciting young writers. A runaway bestseller, the novel hit the top five lists of all the major bookstores and went into nine printings. Both award-winning for its unique literary voice and perspective, and particularly resonant with young readers, it has been a phenomenon in Korea and is poised to capture a worldwide readership. Love in the Big City is an energetic, joyful, and moving novel that depicts both the glittering nighttime world of Seoul and the bleary-eyed morning-after. Young is a cynical yet fun-loving Korean student who pinballs from home to class to the beds of recent Tinder matches. He and Jaehee, his female best friend and roommate, frequent nearby bars where they push away their anxieties about their love lives, families, and money with rounds of soju and ice-cold Marlboro Reds that they keep in their freezer. Yet over time, even Jaehee leaves Young to settle down, leaving him alone to care for his ailing mother and to find companionship in his relationships with a series of men, including one whose handsomeness is matched by his coldness, and another who might end up being the great love of his life. A brilliantly written novel filled with powerful sensory descriptions and both humor and emotion, Love in the Big City is an exploration of millennial loneliness as well as the joys of queer life, that should appeal to readers of Sayaka Murata, Han Kang, and Cho Nam-Joo. URL: https://lti.overdrive.com/media/6131443?cid=37224

  • Love in the Big City
    Love in the Big City
    German(Deutsch) AudioBook

    Sang Young Park / 박상영 / 2022 / KDC구분 > literature > Korean Literature > Korean Fiction > 21st century

    Young flippert zwischen Bude, Hörsaal und den Betten seiner letzten Tinder-Matches hin und her. Er studiert in Seoul, zusammen mit Jaehee, seiner BFF und Mitbewohnerin, zieht er durch die glitzernden Bars und queeren Clubs der Stadt. Mit noch einem Glas Soju in der Hand und eisgekühlten Marlboro Reds zwischen den Lippen beschwören sie die Euphorie, jede Nacht. Gegen die Ängste, gegen die Liebe, gegen die Ansprüche der Familie und die Not mit dem Geld. Doch als auch Jaehee endlich ankommen will, bleibt Young allein zurück im Partymodus. Mit seiner altgewordenen Mutter, mit dutzenden Liebhabern, von denen kaum einer seinen Namen kennt, mit der Leidenschaft fürs Schreiben und einer Frage: Ist in diesem Land für einen wie mich überhaupt eine Zukunft vorgesehen? Kann ich sie erreichen? "Love in the Big City" ist eine Heldengeschichte von gewaltiger Zärtlichkeit und Lässigkeit. Sang Young Park erzählt von Chaos, Freude, Leichtigkeit des Jungseins, und seinen schmerzhaften Grenzen, in einer Gesellschaft, deren Vergangenheit trotz allem Blitzen, Blinken, Träumen seltsam mächtig bleibt ... Das Hörbuch zum Kultroman aus Südkorea, Porträt einer Generation, Psychogramm eines faszinierenden Landes. Source : https://lti.overdrive.com/media/8845935?cid=37224

  • Kärlek i Seoul
    Kärlek i Seoul
    Swedish(Svenska) Ebook

    Sang Young Park / 박상영 / 2023 / KDC구분 > literature > Korean Literature > Korean Fiction > 21st century

    Sydkoreansk bästsäljare! Young är en småcynisk universitetsstudent som är i ständig rörelse i storstaden Seouls hippa kvarter: från sin lägenhet till föreläsnings­salarna, från barerna till olika Tinderdejters sängar. Med Jaehee, tjejkompisen som han delar lägenhet med, är livet enkelt. De dricker soju och röker Marlboro Reds (som de förvarar i frysen) medan de pratar om allt mellan himmel och jord: killar, familj, pengar, sex. Men snart hinner livet ikapp Young. Hans mamma blir sjuk, Jaehee hittar kärleken, och han själv måste hitta försörjning. Då stiger en man in i hans liv som kanske kan få allt att falla på plats, om det inte vore för det där samtalet från sjukhuset. Kärlek i Seoul blev snabbt ett fenomen i Korea när den gavs ut och översätts nu världen över. Det är en rappt och öppen­hjärtigt skriven samtidsroman som utforskar ensamheten som döljer sig bakom millenial-generationens obrydda yttre. Sang Young Park är född 1988 och har en examen i franska från Sungkyunkwan University. Han har arbetat som redaktör för ett magasin och copywriter innan han debuterade som författare. Han bor i Seoul. Eunah Kim & Dann Ling debuterar som skönlitterära översättare med den här boken. Eunah har en doktors­examen i koreansk litteratur från Stockholms universitet och Dann har länge arbetat med att undertexta koreanska filmer och tv-serier till svenska. Source : https://lti.overdrive.com/media/9800289?cid=37224

  • Kärlek i Seoul
    Kärlek i Seoul
    Swedish(Svenska) AudioBook

    Sang Young Park / 박상영 / 2023 / KDC구분 > literature > Korean Literature > Korean Fiction > 21st century

    Sydkoreansk bästsäljare! Young är en småcynisk universitetsstudent som är i ständig rörelse i storstaden Seouls hippa kvarter: från sin lägenhet till föreläsnings­salarna, från barerna till olika Tinderdejters sängar. Med Jaehee, tjejkompisen som han delar lägenhet med, är livet enkelt. De dricker soju och röker Marlboro Reds (som de förvarar i frysen) medan de pratar om allt mellan himmel och jord: killar, familj, pengar, sex. Men snart hinner livet ikapp Young. Hans mamma blir sjuk, Jaehee hittar kärleken, och han själv måste hitta försörjning. Då stiger en man in i hans liv som kanske kan få allt att falla på plats, om det inte vore för det där samtalet från sjukhuset. Kärlek i Seoul blev snabbt ett fenomen i Korea när den gavs ut och översätts nu världen över. Det är en rappt och öppen­hjärtigt skriven samtidsroman som utforskar ensamheten som döljer sig bakom millenial-generationens obrydda yttre. Sang Young Park är född 1988 och har en examen i franska från Sungkyunkwan University. Han har arbetat som redaktör för ett magasin och copywriter innan han debuterade som författare. Han bor i Seoul. Eunah Kim & Dann Ling debuterar som skönlitterära översättare med den här boken. Eunah har en doktors­examen i koreansk litteratur från Stockholms universitet och Dann har länge arbetat med att undertexta koreanska filmer och tv-serier till svenska. Source: https://lti.overdrive.com/media/9811860?cid=37224