Translated Books

We continually collect and provide bibliographic information on overseas publications of Korean literature (translated into over 48 languages).

7 results
  • Love in the Big City
    German(Deutsch) Book

    Sang Young Park / 박상영 / 2022 / literature > Korean Literature > Korean Fiction > 21st century

    Young flippert zwischen Bude, Hörsaal und den Betten seiner letzten Tinder-Matches hin und her. Er studiert in Seoul, zusammen mit Jaehee, seiner BFF und Mitbewohnerin, zieht er durch die glitzernden Bars und queeren Clubs der Stadt. Mit noch einem Glas Soju in der Hand und eisgekühlten Marlboro Reds zwischen den Lippen beschwören sie die Euphorie, jede Nacht. Gegen die Ängste, gegen die Liebe, gegen die Ansprüche der Familie und die Not mit dem Geld. Doch als auch Jaehee endlich ankommen will, bleibt Young allein zurück im Partymodus. Mit seiner altgewordenen Mutter, mit dutzenden Liebhabern, von denen kaum einer seinen Namen kennt, mit der Leidenschaft fürs Schreiben und einer Frage: Ist in diesem Land für einen wie mich überhaupt eine Zukunft vorgesehen? Kann ich sie erreichen? Love in the Big City ist eine Heldengeschichte von gewaltiger Zärtlichkeit und Lässigkeit. Sang Young Park erzählt von Chaos, Freude, Leichtigkeit des Jungseins, und seinen schmerzhaften Grenzen, in einer Gesellschaft, deren Vergangenheit trotz allem Blitzen, Blinken, Träumen seltsam mächtig bleibt … Das Kultbuch aus Südkorea, Porträt einer Generation, Psychogramm eines faszinierenden Landes. Source : https://www.amazon.de/dp/3518472283

  • Liefde in de grote stad
    Dutch(Nederlands) Book

    Sang Young Park / 박상영 / 2021 / literature > Korean Literature > Korean Fiction > 21st century

    Dit debuut van Sang Young Park (1988) werd na verschijning in Zuid-Korea onmiddellijk een van de grootste bestsellers in jaren. Verrassend voor een roman over een onderwerp waar daar niet makkelijk over gesproken wordt: het wilde stadsleven van een queer millennial. Maar om dit boek kon niemand heen, van duizelingwekkende nachten tot katerige morning-afters: Liefde in de grote stad beschrijft het. Op gevoelige, maar ook humoristische wijze schrijft Park over de vriendschap tussen Young en zijn huisgenote Jaehie, twee losbandige buitenstaanders die elkaar gevonden hebben in een van de dichtst bevolkte steden ter wereld, Seoel. Ze vergelijken alle mannen met wie ze het bed delen, drinken hun onzekerheden weg met rondjes soju en roken hun twijfels op met in de vriezer gekoelde Marlboro Reds. Onderwijl rommelen ze zich door het leven heen. Als zelfs Jaehie hem verlaat omdat zij in het huwelijksbootje stapt, blijft Young achter met de zorg voor zijn zieke moeder, een ingewikkeld liefdesleven en twijfels over zijn toekomst als schrijver. Is hij zijn bondgenoot nu echt kwijt? En gaat hij ook ooit liefde vinden in de grote stad? Sang Young Park (1988) is een van de meest spraakmakende jonge schrijvers van Zuid-Korea. Hij groeide op in het conservatieve Daegu, verhuisde als twintiger naar Seoel en studeerde Frans en journalistiek. In 2016 won hij de New Writers Award voor zijn eerste verhaal en daarna publiceerde hij een succesvolle verhalenbundel. Liefde in de grote stad is zijn romandebuut. Mattho Mandersloot (1994) is literair vertaler, voornamelijk van Koreaanse literatuur. Na de middelbare school ging hij in de leer bij een taekwondogrootmeester in Zuid-Korea. Hij deed een gooi naar het wereldkampioenschap, wijzigde koers en studeerde klassieke talen, vertaalwetenschappen en Koreastudies. Sindsdien vertaalde hij onder andere bestsellerauteurs Sun-mi Hwang en Cho Nam-joo. Zijn poging tot kimchisoep is volgens Koreaanse bronnen min of meer eetbaar. Source : https://www.chapters.indigo.ca/en-ca/books/liefde-in-de-grote-stad/9789493248175-item.html

  • Love in the Big City
    English(English) Book

    Sang Young Park / 박상영 / 2021 / literature > Korean Literature > Korean Fiction > 21st century

    A fresh and unique debut novel by the bestselling young star of Korean queer fiction. Love in the Big City is an energetic, joyful, and moving novel that depicts both the glittering nighttime world of Seoul and the bleary-eyed morning-after. Young is a cynical yet fun-loving Korean student who pinballs from home to class to the beds of recent Tinder matches. He and Jaehee, his female best friend and roommate, frequent nearby bars where they suppress their anxieties about their love lives, families, and money with rounds of soju and freezer-chilled Marlboro Reds. Yet in time even Jaehee settles down, leaving Young alone to care for his ailing mother and find companionship in his relationships with a series of men, including one whose handsomeness is matched by his coldness, and another who might end up being the great love of his life. Source : https://www.tiltedaxispress.com/love-in-the-big-city

  • Love in the Big City
    English(English) Book

    Sang Young Park / 박상영 / 2021 / literature > Korean Literature > Korean Fiction > 21st century

    A funny, transporting, surprising, and poignant novel that was one of the highest-selling debuts of recent years in Korea, Love in the Big City tells the story of a young gay man searching for happiness in the lonely city of Seoul. Love in the Big City is the English-language debut of Sang Young Park, one of Korea’s most exciting young writers. A runaway bestseller, the novel hit the top five lists of all the major bookstores and went into nine printings. Both award-winning for its unique literary voice and perspective, and particularly resonant with young readers, it has been a phenomenon in Korea and is poised to capture a worldwide readership. Love in the Big City is an energetic, joyful, and moving novel that depicts both the glittering nighttime world of Seoul and the bleary-eyed morning-after. Young is a cynical yet fun-loving Korean student who pinballs from home to class to the beds of recent Tinder matches. He and Jaehee, his female best friend and roommate, frequent nearby bars where they push away their anxieties about their love lives, families, and money with rounds of soju and ice-cold Marlboro Reds that they keep in their freezer. Yet over time, even Jaehee leaves Young to settle down, leaving him alone to care for his ailing mother and to find companionship in his relationships with a series of men, including one whose handsomeness is matched by his coldness, and another who might end up being the great love of his life. A brilliantly written novel filled with powerful sensory descriptions and both humor and emotion, Love in the Big City is an exploration of millennial loneliness as well as the joys of queer life, that should appeal to readers of Sayaka Murata, Han Kang, and Cho Nam-Joo. Source : https://www.amazon.com/Love-City-Sang-Young-Park/dp/0802158781

  • 大都会の愛し方
    Japanese(日本語) Book

    パク・サンヨン / 박상영 / 2020 / literature > Korean Literature > Korean Fiction > 21st century

  • Modern Korean Poetry
    English(English) Book

    Han Yung Un et al / 한용운 et al / 1994 / literature > Korean Literature > Complete Collection, Library > Complete Collection & Library (more than 2 writers)

    A companion volume to the Classical Korean Poetry, this anthology provides the reader a bird's eye view of modern, 20th century Korean poetry, thus completing the sampling of the Korean poetry beginning with the 12th century through the present.     http://www.amazon.ca/Modern-Korean-Poetry-Jaihiun-Kim/dp/0875730574/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1438047134&sr=8-1&keywords=0875730574, 9780875730578

  • Poésie coréenne contemporaine
    French(Français) Book Available

    Kim Ok et al / 김억 et al / 1991 / literature > Korean Literature > Complete Collection, Library > Complete Collection & Library (more than 2 writers)